Harry Potter Tag

It’s time for more Harry Potter! What better way to kick off a Monday then through a tag?

Favourite Harry Potter book?

As difficult as this is to decide between, I will have to go the Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. The entry into the magical world of Harry Potter is the start of the epic journey that introduces us to the world, characters and lore of the magical world. For that reason, I am saying book one is my favourite.

Least favourite Harry Potter book?

An even harder question! I would say the penultimate novel, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, was my least favourite because it is a bit exposition heavy. It also came out in the height of Harry Potter craziness, and I was dying to know how the story would end.

Favourite Harry Potter movie?

I never cared for the movies in general. Despite that, I did see each Harry Potter movie in cinemas. I would say the last one, Deathly Hallows  P2, was my favourite. The quality increased with each consecutive film culminating in the final movie.

Least favourite Harry Potter movie?

The second movie, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, was not good. I was a pre-teen when the first two movies came out, and even then they felt too “kiddie” for my taste. Then again I was obsessed with the Lord of the Ring movies at the time and, in terms of production, very little could hold a candle to the LotR movies.

Favourite quote?

“Mischief Managed”

Favourite Weasley?

I loved Fred and George. In the early 2000’s, with the LotR films out and the books still being released, I loved Merry and Pippin in the movies, and Fred and George in the books. The comedic duo of supporting characters were dynamic that I was really supportive of. Which made it all the sadder during the Battle of Hogwarts.

Favourite female character?

Hermione Granger. A fairly standard answer, but she was the leading female example I had through my pre-teen and teenage years. She wasn’t my favourite character, but she was an important one. It wasn’t until years later that I realized how much she actually meant to me.

Favourite villain?

Narcissa Malfoy. I was going to say that I don’t have one, but I loved that Narcissa turned coat at the end for the love of her son. I also enjoyed seeing how the ambition, cunning and slyness of Slytherin was shown to be a powerful tool that, when used through love and compassion, can bring down the most evil of Wizards.

Favourite male character?

Harry Potter. I can’t read seven books, a hundred times, through a single character’s POV (for the most part) and not get attached. I feel like Harry Potter is my little brother I grew up with, who went through shit and I will protect to my last breath. He might get moody, he might not think things through, but he’s a good kid who is doing his best in an impossible situation. And his will to survive, his drive to do good and his ability to keep marching even when it feels impossible have been life lessons that have lasted long after reading the books.

Favourite professor?

Professor McGonagall. What more is there to say? She’s perfect.

Least favourite character?

Lavender Brown – not because I dislike her, but I feel that the books and movies did a poor job of showing her. She comes across as very one-dimensional. I have always had a large group of girls as friends, and no girl is that flat. There are always more to them then that, and therefore she is my least favourite because it feels like a squandered opportunity.

Is there a character you felt differently about in the movies?

Ginny Weasley! I don’t know what they were thinking. It is perhaps the biggest reason to do a movie series after a movie is over so that you know how the characters will need to grow and develop. Because something major was lost in translation.

Is there a movie you preferred to the book?

No.

Richard Harris or Michael Gambon as Dumbledore?

They both did fine. I didn’t care for several things in both performances. I quite liked several things about both performances. Neither of them were quite the Dumbledore I read in the books. That Dumbledore needed to be somewhere between the two, but with a bit more quirk.

Your top thing (person or event) that wasn’t in the movie that you wanted there the most?

House Elves! The nuanced wrong-ness of house elves and the relationship between Witches and Wizards and House Elves. The fact that there was no easy solution. Hermione’s misguided attempt of rescuing without consultation of the people she was trying to represent. The abuse of position that most house elves endured. It was a great part of the stories and illustration of some of the larger themes of power, subjugation and rights that are explored in the Harry Potter series.

If you could remake any of the Harry Potter movies which would it be?

All of them. In about ten years – or more. I do feel that Harry Potter could be made into a TV series – Games of Thrones-style but Netflix aesthetics. A season per book. Build up more of the side characters. Have a three part story arch per season – golden trio, teachers, pupils.

Which house was your first gut feeling you’d be apart of?

Ravenclaw when I was little, but not for very long. By the time I was sixteen I knew that Hufflepuff was the place for me. I think I might have been sorted into Ravenclaw when I was 11, but I turned out to be a Hufflepuff through and through the older I get.

Which house were you actually sorted into on Pottermore?

Hufflepuff baby! Hard work, loyalty, justice, fairness – those are the things I care about and strive towards. Plus, I absolutely agree with Helga Hufflepuff that every person – no matter abilities, background, or circumstance – have a right to an education.

Which class would be your favourite?

Charms. It seems the most magical. Though, I would probably also love flying since I am a rollercoaster junkie.

Which spell do you think would be most useful to learn?

I don’t actually know. Maybe Reparo, because it would save money and be really helpful around the house.

Is there any aspect of the books you’d want to change?

No.

Favourite marauder?

Remus Lupin. Though, I have to say, I am most intrigued by James Potter. I feel like there is a huge mystery to him, which is ironic because it’s his friends that were around in the books. At times I feel like J.K. Rowling worked so hard to make sure we understood Severus Snape that the gap between James the bully to James the loving father and husband got lost. I wish we knew more about how he changed and knew more about who he became.

If you could bring one character back to life which would it be?

Remus Lupin. He would have had a rough time of it, but I think with Teddy he would have found a semblance of peace. He would have had a new family unit in Teddy, Andromeda, Harry and Ginny’s family. And it would have been nice to see one Marauder get a happier ending.

If you were on the quidditch team, which position would you play?

Keeper. I always enjoyed being the goalie in sports.

Were you happy with the ending?

Yes, I was. I didn’t need the epilogue, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. It was like walking for a bit after a marathon.

If you get a chance to fill out this tag on your blog, let me know! I am dying of curiousity to read about my fellow Potterheads!

Leave a Reply

